Marguerite Gahagan was an early Michigan conservation journalist who founded The North Woods Call in 1953, following a career at The Detroit News. In 1959, Marguerite purchased ten wooded acres in Roscommon and moved herself and The Call to the site of today’s Gahagan Preserve. She was known as a hard-driving reporter who made weekly visits gathering the latest news from field stations of what was then the Michigan Conservation Department. The view from her cabin inspired her regular column“Pine Whispers” which chronicled the daily events of her woodland sanctuary. In 1969 she sold The Call to Glen Sheppard. On January 5, 2011, Mr. Sheppard passed, briefly ending more than fifty years of Michigan's first and most enduring conservation newspaper. In 2012, Mike Van Buren briefly resurrected The Call as an on-line newspaper before ending publication in September 2014.
When Marguerite passed in 1997, she gave her ten-acre property and her cabin home as a nature preserve. The property consists of mature pine forests, cedar swamps and the beginnings of Tank Creek, which feeds into the South Branch of the Au Sable River. The preserve is affiliated with the Roscommon Metropolitan Recreation Authority and includes another fifty acres, which were acquired later.
Imagine Marguerite sitting at her typewriter, peering through the picture window of her small, remote cabin. This is how she saw the world. And now you can enjoy her writing while benefiting Gahagan Preserve.